May reading round-up

Well. It’s a little embarrassing to be posting May’s reading round-up a week into June. I wish I had a great excuse, like “I got a job and I’m packing all my stuff to move to the big city!” or “My husband surprised me with a trip to Paris!” but sadly, neither of those things are true. Really, I’ve just been distracted by shiny internet things (and my husband surprised me with an iPad, which you would think would lead to increased blogging, but has instead lead to increased time perusing the app store). Also, posting this on Monday, even if it IS June 7th, goes along with my new goal of posting every Monday, with chance of bonus posts on other days of the week, i.e. maintaining a schedule like a good blogger. ANYWAY.

Although I didn’t post that much during May (hence the previously mentioned goal), almost everything I read was awesome, and I read a lot because a) I finished my graduate program and have more free time now and b) I took a job-interview related trip that involved spending a bunch of time on the plane. So, without further ado, my May reads:

     

I’m not a hundred percent sure what order I read all of these in, so I’ll just go in the order of the images.

You Killed Wesley Payne – funny, weird, and awesomely original high school noir.

If I Stay and Where She Went – I didn’t review these two (Where She Went is the sequel to If I Stay) but I loved them both. I think I’m in the minority here, but I actually liked Where She Went better. Adam’s voice felt so real to me, and as much as I liked getting to know Mia and her family in the first book, I could never fully accept the conceit of the book (although it did make me cry more than once).

Sweethearts – Another non-reviewed title, and another one I loved (told you it was a good month!) A beautiful story about first love. One of the best things about the books I read this month was how different they were, both from either other and from the other stuff I’ve been reading lately. The closest comparison I can think of for this one is Natalie Standiford’s How to Say Goodbye in Robot, another story about a boy-girl friendship that’s more than just a typical friendship, but not a quite a romance either, at least not in the regular sense of the word. Zarr’s writing is also great; I hardly noticed it, and I mean that in the best possible way. Recommended for John Green fans and anybody who loved the perks of being a wallflower. 

Please Ignore Vera DietzANOTHER winner (literally – it won a Printz Honor this year) and another moving and original story.

I finished up the month with As Easy As Falling Off the Face of the Earth. I didn’t write a full review, but you can see my thoughts over on my Goodreads page. This one is pretty different from my usual fare, and in a different month I might have enjoyed it more, but it didn’t stand up to all of the really wonderful stuff I read earlier in the month.

So that was it for May! I’m sure June can’t live up to it, especially in terms of percentage of awesome, but I’ll let you know in a month.

5 thoughts on “May reading round-up

  1. I don’t really have anything to say about the books you read this month, but man, the theme of your blog sure makes me feel relaxed. And like I should be drinking tea and eating crustless sandwiches. Look how helpful I am!

    • That’s why I chose it. I need the maximum amount of crustless sandwiches possible in my life. Also relaxation.

  2. Pingback: Where I’ve Been « Draw Explosions

Leave a Reply

