Oops, I forgot to blog for two months

Um, hey, y’all. Sorry about that. Anyway, I’m back now! Hooray!

A lot has happened in the wonderful world of YA since during my absence (also in my life – new job! new city!). Here’s a quick list of books that I previously reviewed that have been released lately. Now you can buy them! Or better yet, check them out from your local public library! Yay!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. Like I said in my review, this is a MUST read for fantasy fans. One of the most beautiful and heart-wrenching fantasies I’ve read in a long time.

Queens of All the Earth by Hannah Sternberg. I read this one way back in April. It’s a lovely little book (and a perfect gift for anyone you know who’s about to graduate/take a semester off to travel the world. Especially if that person is going to Spain, where I totally want to go after reading this).

Dust & Decay by Jonathan Maberry. I reviewed this one for the Hub back in July. A great addition to Maberry’s exciting zombie series.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. Another Hub review. Confession: I have a little girl crush on Stephanie Perkins. Her books are so sweet and swoon-y, and she seems SUPER nice (she replies every time I -or anyone- tweets about her books, which must be really time-consuming. Fans appreciate that kind of thing). Lola, like Anna and the French Kiss before it will charm the pants off you.

Another one I must mention is Sara Zarr’s new novel, How to Save a Life. The ladies over at FYA turned me on to Ms. Zarr, and I’m SO glad they did. She writes the most realistic, flawed-but-wonderful characters of any author in YA. Recommended especially if you’re a fan of John Green or Sarah Dessen, but also if you like to read good books. Which you probably do. I just finished this one a couple of days ago, and I’m hoping to write a review, but don’t wait for that – go get it right now.

So! There’s something for everyone – horror, romance, contemporary fiction, and fantasy. Go forth and read, y’all! (and come back soon for a review of How to Save a Life. Try not to get that Fray song stuck in your head. Fail. Curse me, but still go buy the book ’cause it’s awesome).

Leave a Reply

