2013 Youth Media Award predictions

I’m not at all up-to-date on what’s happening in middle grade and picture books right now, so I only have predictions for the YA awards (and some that tend to cross over, like the Coretta Scott King). Here they are:

Printz winner: Code Name Verity
Printz honors: Seraphina, Ask the Passengers, The Fault in Our Stars

Morris Winner: Seraphina (I love The Miseducation of Cameron Post more, but I think Seraphina is something everyone can agree on, whereas Cameron Post has some minor pacing issues).

Excellence in Nonfiction: Bomb (which, by the way, would make Steve Sheinkin the winner of this award two years in a row).

Edwards: Boy, this is a tough one. Does it have to be somebody with the majority of his/her career behind them? This might be John Green’s year, given the amount of attention received by The Fault in Our Stars. I also think Sarah Dessen should be part of the converstation – no one consistently puts out thoughtful, appealing contemporary fiction the way she does. If I were on the committee, I’d probably toss out Suzanne Collins, too, because let’s be honest, The Hunger Games has had a HUGE impact on YA literature. Anyway, I don’t really have a prediction. It’ll be a surprise!

Coretta Scott King: I’m going with Vaunda Micheaux Nelson for No Crystal Stair for the author category. It could easily be middle grade, though, and then I know nothing about it.

Pura Belpre: Well, I ashamed at how few ideas I can come up with for this one, but I’m going with another repeat winner: Guadalupe Garcia McCall for Summer of the Mariposas. This one and the CSK Awards are given by ALSC, so it could easily be a middle grade title I haven’t heard of.

Stonewall Award: The Miseducation of Cameron Post, although there are lots of good choice this year (Ask the Passengers, The Difference Between You and Me, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe…)

OK, I think those are the only ones I have a chance of guessing correctly. Suuuuuuuper excited for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

